“Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father.” – Colossians 3:17 (NASV)

“I don’t wanna go through the motions

I don’t wanna go one more day

Without Your all consuming

Passion inside of me.

I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking

What if I had given everything

instead of going through the motions.”

These are lyrics to a song by Matthew West called “The Motions.” If you haven’t heard it, check it out.

We always hear about people just going through the motions of life. You hear in refernce to athletes, businessmen, students, etc. I’m certain that at some point in life we have all been guilty of just getting by or ‘going through the motions.’ We probably have used the logic of “I just don’t feel well” or “I’m tired” or “I busted my tail yesteday, I’m taking it easy today.” However, the words of the above scripture in conjunction with this song have really challenged me.

Going through the motions is not what we are called to do with our lives. Scripture makes this clear. We are called to do everything in the Name of our Lord Jesus. That simple challenge makes me step back and take stock simply of what I’m doing.

I am always telling the worship team at Crossroads that worship is a lifestyle. This verse from Colossians really hammers that home. Everything we do should be done in His Name and for His glory.

One other personal challenge that I deal with when I start evaluating my life and actions is that it is very tempting to try to evaluate what those around me are doing. Are they giving their all? Are they doing it as unto God? I have to check myself and realize that I can’t answer those questions. I also have to check myself and ask if I’m trying to evaluate their shortcomings so that I feel better about my own. I am then reminded that I shouldn’t worry about the speck in my brother’s eye when I have a log in my own.

What about you? Does this challenge/encourgae you? Would love to hear what God’s doing in your life. Feel free to leave comments.

Love you guys!

