Let me preface this by saying that I am one of the biggest patriots around. I am proud to be an American and I am even more grateful to the men and women who over the past 233 years have fought so bravely to ensure that our freedom is not threatened by foreign powers. God bless America.

Let me also say that this is in no way intended to be a partisan blog. Politicians on both sides of the aisle have become inundated with the idea that their title means they know what’s best for the country despite what their constituents believe.

We call today Independence Day, and rightfully so. In 1776 a group of ‘traitors’ signed a document saying they were tired of being ruled from afar by a government that gave them no voice. In that historic event, this nation was formed.

Fast forward to today. As we celebrate our ‘Independence’, I can’t help but think of how dependent our government has forced us to be on them. They now control a large portion of our financial sector as well as that American institution known as General Motors. Is this the freedom that our founding fathers envisioned? Did they really want to trade a government that gave the people no voice for another one closer to home?

Before you hit me with our right to vote (which I’m grateful for, by the way), let me say this. Yes, we can vote, but for who? The most qualified candidate with the best interest of our country in mind? I don’t think so. We are given the freedom to vote for the wealthiest, smoothest talking, party line toting candidate from each side of the aisle.

The concept of personal responsibility is completely lost on today’s politicians. No, I’m not even going to broach personal morals/ethics here. I was raised to believe that when you make a mistake, there are consequences. Our government has for years been fiscally irresponsible, spending money on some of the most ridiculous things imaginable. This fiscal irresponsibility has left this country with an ever increasing debt with no end in sight.

Now think with me for a second as to what would happen to a member of the private sector who spent and spent and spent with no ability to pay off the debt. A few words come to mind. Repossession, foreclosure, bankruptcy, and the list could go on.

Our government and large corporations show the same irresponsibility and what words come to mind? Bailout, print more money, raise taxes. Sound familiar?

I don’t pretend to be a political expert and I understand that a company like GM going under would cost countless jobs. At the same token, a government controlled GM forced to make cars that no one would want to buy is doomed to fail as well. It’s just going to take longer. Maybe, if we would let the corporate ‘big boys’ that are irresponsibly run go under, it would shake some sense into other CEO’s that they need to run an efficient business, or risk losing it all.

America is the land of opportunity and we are still a free people. I just wish that we were still free to succeed and free to fail if need be.

