Do you remember the euphoric feeling of falling in love for the first time? Marrying your best friend? Looking at your child for the first time? These are all incredible life experiences that words can not adequately describe. How about this one. Do you remember how excited you were when you first met Jesus? If you are like most, you couldn’t wait to tell others about your decision, get baptized, dive into Bible study, and win others to Jesus.

Jeremiah 2:2b reads – “I remember the devotion of your youth, your love as a bride, how you followed me in the wilderness, in a land not sown.” (ESV)

Ouch. Am I still as excited about what Jesus has done for me now as I was back then? Do I still long to tell others about Him? Is Bible study a pleasure or a chore? Is corporate worship an obligation or an opportunity?

Can you see where I’m going with this? Life is full of peaks and valleys, highs and lows. So is our Christian walk. Jesus knew that we would face difficult times. He even prepared His disciples for that certainty. “In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33 (ESV) I believe that Jesus told His disciples this not only to prepare them for difficult times, but to give them hope and a reason to celebrate. His reminder that He has overcome the world should give us that much more reason to not lose heart when life gets tough.

As 2014 has begun, it is my personal desire to return to the devotion of youth and love as a bride. I want people to know that I am in love with Jesus. I don’t want people to question my devotion to Him. In fact, I want to introduce as many people as I can to Him this year.

Let’s do this!

