Good morning, friends.

It has been an incredibly eventful past few days and as I find myself in my office preparing for our worship team rehearsal tonight, I realize how absolutely exhausted I am.

Saturday night I was genuinely terrified. Hannah, our youngest daughter, had the worst asthma attack that I’ve ever seen her have. It was so bad that we initially suspected a bad allergic reaction and administered her epipen. (Parents, if you’ve never had to do that to your child, I pray that you never do.) She was struggling to breathe and in that moment I found myself almost paralyzed with fear.

The good news is that she was treated swiftly in the ER and after a 2 day stint in the hospital she is home and back in school today.

Fear is a dynamic emotion that can cripple you like nothing I’ve ever experienced. I have spent a lot of time reflecting on how Satan can use our own fears to cripple our effectiveness for Christ. Whether we want to admit it or not, we’re all afraid of something (rejection, pain, failure, meeting new people, etc.); the list could be endless. The good news is that God has not called us to live in fear. (2 Tim. 1:7) God has called us to live in love, power, and in sound mind.

We as Christians have no reason to be afraid. In our weakness Christ’s strength is perfected. Through His power, fear can have no grip on us.

The next time that you find yourself gripped by the crippling grasp of fear, remind yourself that God has not given you the spirit of fear, but of love, power, and a sound mind. He can set you free from those paralyzing effects and enable you to live a powerful life for him.

