“Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? Because I knew you, I have been changed for good.”

This is a line from the song ‘For Good’ from the popular Broadway musical Wicked. It’s definitely one of those lines that the first time you hear it, can leave you scratching your head about it’s meaning. Then again, maybe, I’m just slow.

There is so much truth to this statement. We leave permanent marks on the people that come in and out of our lives. Sometimes good, sometimes bad. The problem is, we rarely if ever think about relationships in this light.

I’m sure that we can all list people who are no longer in our lives that have had impact on our lives in one way or the other. Now realize that your name is on a lot of people’s lists too. Be careful not to use that information to automatically say, ‘Wow, I’ve impacted a lot of people.’ While it’s true, the question still remains did you change them for the better.

Now let’s go a step further and apply this to our Christian testimony. We don’t know how many of the people in our lives may get their only example of Christ from us. That is a thought that sobers me. How many times have I blown it by not showing people the love of Jesus as I live my life. How many times have I completely turned someone off to Christ by my own selfish, sinful actions? If I weigh that against how many people have I led to Christ, would I be found wanting?

Earlier this week I posted that relationships matter….and they do. This is why.

I do know this: Because I know Jesus I have been changed for the better. I want to introduce Him to as many people as possible. Won’t you join me?

