The church we have been attending lately has been doing a series entitle ‘Live It.’ This morning’s message was about getting out of the comfort of the shallows and venturing out into the deep water of Christian living. What a challenging message.

‘bathophobia’ – a fear of the depths

One of the points that our pastor made this morning was this: It is quite possible if not probably that most Christians do not suffer from bathophobia (fear of the depths), but rather from abathophilia (love of the shallows). I’ve been thinking about that a lot today and I think that I agree.

Humans are creatures that like control. Being in shallow water, even for the most immature believer, allows for easy control of what is going on in life. Venturing away from the shallows requires faith, especially when suddenly your feet don’t touch the bottom. We are called as Christians to live a life of surrender. Galatians 2:19-20 talk about us being ‘crucified with Christ.’ Being crucified with Christ is not something that can occur if we are not willing to surrender our lives to God’s control. That is scary stuff. We are living it right now during this transition phase of life for me. The past 2 months have taken us from the comforts of the shallow end of the pool into the unknown fathoms of the deep. Trust is at a premium now in my relationship with God. Where I am challenged is this…..shouldn’t my trust always be at a premium? Shouldn’t I always be venturing deeper in my relationship with Christ instead of easing back to the shallows to catch my breath or take a break?

I’ll wrap this up with lyrics for two different songs that speak to me on this subject.

‘Oceans’ – Hillsong Worship

You call me out upon the waters

the great unknown where feet may fail

And there I find You in the mystery

In oceans deep

My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name

And keep my eyes above the waves

When oceans rise

My soul will rest in Your embrace

For I am Yours, and You are mine

‘Deeper’

I’ve heard Your grace is like an ocean

Lord, I’m diving in

Don’t want to fight against the currents

That wash away my sin

Your waters they encompass me

Just like my daddy’s arms

As I sink into Your love, Lord

Hear this cry from my heart

Deeper

I want to go deeper

I’m drowning in grace

I feel Your embrace

And I want to go deeper

