While doing my quiet time today, I came across one of my favorite stories from the Old Testament: the dedication of Solomon’s temple. Twice, in 2 Chronicles 5:13-14 (when the Ark was installed) and again in 2 Chronicles 7:1-2 (when the fire of God consumed the sacrifices) we see God’s presence causing the priests to be unable to continue with their tasks. How powerful God’s presence must be!

I started thinking. Have we gotten to casual or even careless with God’s presence? I actually even went so far as to ask if we are experiencing God’s presence at all. For the sake of this blog, I’m not even going to go down that trail.

Let me begin by saying that yes I think we do encounter God’s presence in corporate times of worship, but I think we encounter only a small portion. I certainly don’t see musicians and preachers and worshipers unable to stand because of it. I also think that what the Israelites saw on this momentous occasion was something that was certainly not the norm for temple worship.

Back to my first question. Have we gotten to casual with God’s presence? I think we have. For starters, I think that we have gotten into the habit of coming into worship and not expecting God to show up so the environment can almost feel more social than spiritual. I even find myself guilty of talking about things completely unrelated to the worship of our creator in the final moments before the service starts. I MUST CHANGE THAT!!

I know that God is not confined to the 4 walls of a church sanctuary. However, if I am coming together with other believers to worship, I have to have my mind set on the One whom I am worshiping or everything else is just going through the motions.

Does anyone else hate sitting down for a conversation with someone that can’t stop looking at their cell phone? (Unless of course, you are the one checking your phone.) I can’t help but think that God doesn’t like for us to come into His house with everything else on our mind except Him. Think about it this way. If you had a meeting scheduled with the POTUS, would you even think about pulling your phone out of your pocket (unless of course, you’re taking a selfie) during the meeting? Of course not! If you did, then your meeting may end sooner than you planned.

Maybe it’s time for us to give God the respect He deserves when we come into His house. Maybe if we did, we may see a little bit more of His presence at work.

Just my 2 cents.

Be blessed!

Chris

