Life is full of unexpected twists and turns. If you had told me a month ago that I would soon resign my position with no definite place to land, I would have laughed at you and told you that you are crazy. Here we are on July 1 and that is exactly what has happened. I don’t know what God has in store for me and my family, but I know that His plans will unfold and it is up to us to say ‘Here I am, Lord. Send me.’

It would be absolutely impossible for me to tell every individual person that has been on this journey with us how much they mean to us, so I hope that you understand that while this is certainly much more impersonal than I prefer, it is from the heart. Our friends and family have been amazing over the course of the last month and I genuinely don’t know what we would have done without them. This has been and continues to be an incredibly emotional time for us. Let me assure all of you that may read this that Beth and I are absolutely fine as are the girls. I know that there aren’t many details about why we reached this decision, but I ask you to trust us that it was the right thing for our family at this time.

The song “Oceans” by Hillsong is one that has been speaking to me lately. The opening lyric says ‘You call me out upon the waters, the great unknown, where feet may fail.” We definitely feel that we are in the great unknown right now, but we have a peace that I can’t explain other than to say that it is obvious to us that God is walking this path right beside us and carrying us as need be. (I know the ‘Footprints’ analogy is cheesy, but it fits.)

If you think of us, simply pray for us. Know that we love you all!

In Christ,

Chris

