So, I have had several people inquire about the title of my blog page, so I thought I would use this post to try to explain what is means to me.

Psalms 24:3-4 HCSB

Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord ? Who may stand in His holy place? The one who has clean hands and a pure heart, who has not set his mind  on what is false, and who has not sworn deceitfully.

Often times in scripture,  including the above passage, worship is talked about as a process of going ‘up’. For a long time I just thought of this as a literary device, but then I had the opportunity to go to Israel. Here is what I learned.

The city of Jerusalem sits on a hill. Actually, hill may be an understatement.  On top of that hill is Temple Mount. You see, when the Israelites would go to worship at the temple, they literally went up. Having walked the hill at a time when I was in decent shape and about 50 lbs lighter than I am today, let me tell you that it was work to get up that hill.

So how does that apply to the title of my blog? It occurred to me that when it is time for worship, God expects some effort on our part. Let me pause and say that I firmly believe that there is no work we could do that can earn salvation. That is solely God’s grace. King David even declared that he would not offer to God that which cost him nothing.  Again this implies that worship takes effort and has a cost for us.

In Psalms 24, David answers the question about who may ascend the Hill of the Lord (who may go to worship). The qualifications are weighty to say the least: clean hands, a pure heart, not having set your mind on what is false, and not deceitful.  Apart from God’s grace, we can never live up to that.

So, a lot of what you will read in this blog is my journey up the hill. God continues to stretch me, mold me, teach me, and sometimes discipline me. My hope is that when I finally reach the top of the hill, I will be the person described in Psalms 24:4. I’ve got work to do, but I’m growing.

