Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong. They are weak but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. The Bible tells me so.

Most of us have song this song hundreds of times going all the way back to our earliest childhood memories. So much so that we hear the words, ‘Jesus loves me’ and start singing the song in our heads. Has this simple children’s song desensitized us to the power of those words? In my case, I would reluctantly and with some level of embarrassment say that it has.

There is a very cliche saying that the greatest distance on earth is the 18 inches from your brain to your heart. It may be cliche, but it’s true. You see, in the technical sense of the word, I know that Jesus loves me. I know that He died on a cross outside the city of Jerusalem some 2,000 years ago and then 3 days later He was raised to life showing His victory over death. I know that and have known that for a very long time.

This week the depth of that knowledge has increased. I think just maybe that knowledge traveled a little bit further down that metaphorical highway from my head to my heart. My belief in God has not wavered during recent trials. I haven’t blamed Him for anything that has happened. In fact, it’s been the opposite for me. I have considered myself to be in God’s waiting room with the firm belief that His greater plan would unfold in His time and not mine. That’s not to say that I haven’t grown impatient. I have. I still have confidence in His timing over mine.

This week in a couple of very unexpected ways, I was reminded that Jesus loves me. Not just the pronoun in the song, but ME. Chris Darling. Jesus loves Chris Darling. WOW!!!! How have I learned that more over the past couple of days? I have seen him move in the hearts of people that don’t know us that well to bless my family. That love is something that I haven’t felt in a while. I love how God uses His people to remind us of what is probably the most basic, yet profound tenet of the Christian faith. Jesus loves me this I know.

As one final reminder, a song was sung this morning in church. I wish I had audio or video of Jared singing it this morning as he absolutely killed it. Since I don’t, I will share the video from Chris Tomlin. Be blessed, and remember that Jesus loves you!

BTW – I would be foolish to not add this tag. Not only was I reminded that Jesus loves me, I was reminded that there are some pretty amazing people that have only recently come into our lives that love us too.

