A couple of weeks ago, Beth and I were having lunch with another pastor and his wife. During the course of our conversation, this pastor asked me a question that on the spot I fumbled briefly in answering, but by and large I knew what my answer was. Since that conversation, I have made it a priority to never fumble at all when asked this question. What was the question, you ask? Here it is. What is your life verse, what is your ministry verse, and what is your passion verse? So without any fanfare, here we go.

Life Verse

Philippians 3:10-11 ESV

(10) that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, (11) that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

The aim of my entire life is beautifully summed up in these 2 verses. I ultimately want nothing more than to know Jesus. Now this verse assures me that it won’t be easy or even pleasant for that matter. However, it also reminds me that in the end, the reward is so worth it!

Ministry Verse

John 4:23-24 ESV

(23) But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him. (24) God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.

As a worship pastor, it is my job to not only lead the congregation in worship each Sunday, but to teach them about the importance of not just worship, but Biblical (spirit and truth) worship. I can not expect corporate worship to be ‘successful’ if the people that I am leading don’t understand why we are doing what we are doing.

Passion Verse

Psalm 24:3-4 ESV

(3) Who shall ascend the hill of the Lord?

And who shall stand in his holy place?

(4) He who has clean hands and a pure heart,

who does not lift up his soul to what is false

and does not swear deceitfully.

This is my passion verse because it reminds me how important it is for me to stay straight. Worship is my passion, but I can’t just haphazardly approach the throne room of God. This verse is a constant attitude check verse for me.

What verses help guide you every day? If you don’t have any, I challenge you to find them.

