So, I have not blogged nearly as much as I normally do lately, but it’s with very good reason.  If you read my last entry, it was posted the night before my wife was to undergo brain surgery to remove a tumor that had been discovered a mere 24 hours earlier.  Needless to say, it has been a whirlwind of a week for all of us.  To bring everyone up to speed, Beth’s surgery was successful and they removed all of the tumor.  We do not expect any further complications and she is now on the road to recovery at home.

sometimes he calms

Last Sunday, Beth was recovering in the hospital and I made the decision to go to church with Carrie and Hannah.  I have to admit that there was a large part of me that felt strange going to church while my wife was still laying in the hospital recovering from surgery.  There was another part of me that felt that there was no other place that I should have been.  You see, despite the trauma and stress of everything that happened, I had so much to be thankful to God for.

As soon as worship started, I knew I was in the right place.  It was one of the more emotional worship experiences that I have had in a long time.  There were times I found myself singing at the top of my lungs not caring what those around me thought.  There were other times where I couldn’t even get the words to the songs out of my mouth, but tears were flowing down my face.  I’m quite certain that from start to finish, I had a ridiculous smile on my face.  I had so much to be thankful for that the joy could not be contained and held in.

As our team began to sing ‘The Anthem’ I was emotionally a wreck.  I had wrestled with the fear of possibly losing my wife just 2 days earlier, but here I was surrounded by so many people that had loved on us during the week singing, “Hallelujah! You have won the victory.” What a moment!

Tomorrow morning, I will climb into the drum cage at Northwood Baptist and have fun worshiping Jesus with some amazing people.  I still have so much to be thankful for as God has brought Beth through this ordeal.  I can’t wait for tomorrow.  It’s going to be a blast!

