I’ve been reading as part of my devotional time a book called ‘Deeper In The Word.’ It gives brief devotional entries for 100 different words that appear in the New Testament.  It attempts to help us understand the context of those words from their Greek counterparts and to this point it has been a very enjoyable read.  I did cringe when Rob Bell was quoted, but researched and found that the quotes used were before his jump into the hyper grace ‘Love Wins’ heresy, so I pressed on rather than calling it quits with this book.  I don’t expect to agree with everything I read in any theology type book, so I take the approach that I learned from my mentor at Lee University and do my best to not throw the baby out with the bath water.

In reading the entry on the word ‘humble’ I came across this statement which the author quoted Bill Hybles and Rich Wilkins.  Check it out.

If you want to be truly great, then the direction you must go is down. You must descend into greatness. At the heart of this paradox is still another paradox: Greatness is not a measure of self-will, but rather self-abandonment. The more you lose, the more you gain – Bill Hybels and Rich Wilkins ‘Descending Into Greatness’

Throughout our lives we are conditioned to the thought and premise that achieving success is kind of a climb the ladder mentality. The more success you want, the harder you have to work (theoretically), and the higher you have to climb on that ladder.  It makes sense, right?

5502

Well, God’s economy works a little bit different.  Jesus was asked on many occasions who would be the greatest in God’s kingdom.  His answer always pointed to those who were willing to be last, or servants, would become the greatest in God’s economy.  What? That goes against everything we have been taught in society.  To achieve success, we must scratch, claw, kick, and step on anyone who dares to get in our way as we ascend the ladder.

Jesus has a different idea.  He wants us to be willing to serve those around us, even at cost to ourselves and our own desires, to achieve greatness in his kingdom.

Here’s an old song from Truth that I think sums this up very well.

