Short and sweet. My readers know that I am working to improve my fitness.  One of the things I was looking for was a delicious smoothie that I could drink when I get back from a run or from working out.  Eventually, I’m sure I’ll get into protein shakes and all of that, but baby steps.

Confession. I don’t like a whole lot of fruits and I’m even worse when it comes to veggies so most smoothie recipes that I come across don’t even sound good to begin with.  Several months ago I came across a recipe for a peanut butter and jelly smoothie.  I was intrigued so I tried it.  I hated it. Probably because it called for strawberry instead of grape and we all know that PB&J is supposed to be made with grape jelly.  So I started tweaking this recipe and here’s what I ended up with and I think it’s delicious.

1/2 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup plain, non-fat Greek yogurt, 2 tablespoons of grape jelly, and 2 tablespoons of reduced fat peanut butter.

That’s it. This delicious smoothie comes in at 400 calories.  I will admit that the sugar content is a little high (31g), but if you tweak your sugar intake throughout the day, it isn’t a killer in that department.  You can even knock it down to 370 calories by substituting original unsweetened almond milk made by Almond Breeze.

Other variations that aren’t as calorie friendly would be using 2% milk and regular Greek Yogurt – 661 calories. If you stick with skim milk and still use regular greek yogurt it gets it down to 485 calories.  For me, either of those options is simply too many calories to put down at breakfast.

Try it and let me know what you think!

