This is long overdue, but this is so important that I felt it necessary to make sure I conveyed it clearly. In the first part of this blog, I talked about the necessity to remove our focus from ourselves if we truly wish to engage in worship.

The next step is what ultimately allows us to enter into God’s presence. Once we take the focus off of ourselves, it has to go somewhere, right? Where it needs to go is straight to the King of kings and Lord of lords, Jesus Christ.

When our focus goes to Him, the image of who God is becomes a bit clearer. Jesus said that if He is lifted up, He will draw all men to Him. People aren’t drawn to Jesus if they don’t get any kind of idea regarding who He is and what He is like.

This is why I am a firm believer that our corporate worship times should spend much more time declaring the awesomeness of Jesus than what we often times do. Don’t get me wrong, I love intimate songs of worship, but those songs don’t tell the unbeliever who Jesus is to us. It is for that reason that I prefer to use those songs during times of response at the altar.

As a worship leader, it is my job to lead people into God’s presence and the best way I know to do that is by declaring the greatness of God in song. When people see God for who He is, they are much more apt to follow in worship.

This is why it is critical for us as believers to boldly proclaim the name of Jesus in worship. When the focus is on Him, lives are changed. If the focus is anywhere else, it’s just a show.

Here are a few of my favorite songs for worship.

Man of Sorrows
The Anthem
You Are Holy
You Reign

