This morning I was able to participate in The Y of Central Maryland’s Turkey Trot 5k. While not my first 5k experience it was definitley my first that I was truly prepared for. I ran the Westminster location (there were 6 locations in the area) and had a wonderful time.

Here is the shirt paricipants received.

image

Here is how I geared up for the run.

image

image

It ended up being a beautiful morning for a run. Temperatures made it into the low 40’s by starting time. There were over 1,900 runners in this run so it was a pretty crowded start.

My goal was to do the course in under 28 minutes. I was allotting a little bit of time for weaving in and out of traffic at the start, but figured 28 was a good mark to shoot for. I have done two other 5k’s and never broke 40 minutes on them. Of course I didn’t train either.

The hills on my normal running trail worked to my advantage as there were a couple of decent inclines on the course. The funniest moment for me was around the 2 mile mark I passed a girl wearing a University of South Carolina shirt and I fought the urge to start chanting C-L-E-M-S-O-N Fight Tigers Fight Tigers Fight Fight Fight! Beth is a Clemson fan so I have a soft spot for them unless they’re playing my Tar Heels.

As of posting this, the official results haven’t been posted. According to my Nike app, the course came in at 3.17 miles and I did it in 25:12. That’s a 7:57 pace. I’m still stunned by that.

image

All in all it was a great experience. Thanks to the Y and all of the sponsors for putting on a great event.

image

Update – upon final results coming in, 1,911 runners finished the race. I finished 148th and 19th in my age group with a chip time of 25:13.8.

