OK, the title is misleading as I do not run when I’m sick. That’s just absurd to me. However, that first run after even a single day of sickness is just no fun. That was me this morning.

A very unpleasant sinus/respiratory crud has been making the rounds in our family. First the kids got it, then Beth, and finally it was my turn. Wednesday it was just a sore throat. Yesterday, in addition to the sore throat, my head felt like it was in a vice all day long. Sinus pressure is a horrific thing.

I spent most of the day in bed and ate how I felt. That is, I ate terribly. Why do I do that? When I’m sick I make the worst food choices. That has to stop.

Yesterday was a scheduled no run day so I didnt lose a training run, but I did have to make the decision at 5:30 this morning if I was going to run. I am proud to say that I gutted out 5 miles at an 8:12 pace. I still don’t feel great, but at least I know I got my work in regardless.

Happy running!

