Well, Christmas week is upon us and by the time this posts, it will be behind us. Unreal!

So, on a personal note, Star Wars: The Force Awakens was incredible. I can’t wait to take my kids to see it. They are still young enough that we prefer to check anything with a PG-13 rating out before letting them see it. I will not spoil anything, but if you haven’t seen it yet, GO!

I am noticing a trend in my training runs. Mile 3 is more often than not my quickest mile. I’m guessing that bodes well for any future 5k runs that I seem to have a natural kick for mile 3. Do any of you notice a trend like that in your running?

On to my training log for the week.

Monday – 5.52 miles in 45:18 for a pace of 8:12. Location: Wakefield Valley Trail. Temp: 36 degrees. Looking at the weather, this may be my only dry run of the week. However, despite the rain, the temps will also be warmer so it’s a give and take. Looking at my splits, once again, mile 3 is my fastest.

image

image

Tuesday – 6.1 miles in 53:22 for a pace of 8:44. Location: Wakefield Valley Trail. Temp: 51 degrees. Drizzle. 94% humidity.

This was a tough run. I had dead legs and I almost packed it in between 5.4 and 5.5 miles when a horrible side cramp doubled me over. I worked through it by pulling my already slow pace back a bit and it went away after about 1-2 minutes. Interestingly, mile 4 was my fastest mile today.

image

image

image

Wednesday – 3.59 miles in 31:33 for a pace of 8:47. Location: Wakefield Valley Trail. Temp: 57 degrees. Humidity: 94%. Fog and rain.

I thought yesterday was tough. Oops. Dead legs and two near falls helped to derail what was supposed to be a 6.7 mile run and turn it into a 3.59 mile trek. Rest tomorrow is obviously needed. It appears that I will be running on Christmas day.

image

Thursday – Well, I decided to run today because who really wants to run on Christmas morning? Not me.  I logged 5.36 miles in 45:40 for a pace of 8:31. Location: Finksburg. Temp: 64 degrees, 91% humidity, windy and rainy.

I opted for a change of scenery since it had been such a tough week and ran near my parents house. I was quickly reminded why I prefer trails and sidewalks to roads. Nevertheless, I gutted out 5+ miles and while my pace wasn’t great, it was better than the past two days.

image

image

Friday – Nope.

image

I hope you had a blessed Christmas with those you love.

Saturday – 10.66 miles in 1:31:56 for a pace of 8:37. Location: Wakefield Valley Trail. Temp: 52 degrees, 89% humidity and overcast.

I did my 60 second walk breaks every 1.5 miles just like last week. Felt better throughout than I did last Saturday. Even had enough kick to move my overall pace from 8:41 to 8:37 over the final .86 mile.

image

image

image

Sunday – Rest Day

Weekly Miles – 31.23
YTD Miles – 764.69

It was an up and down week for weight loss. Prior to Christmas Day I had successfully lost pretty much everything that I had gained the week before. Then the Christmas meals hit. I can still say, however that just like Thanksgiving week, I lost weight. That’s a win for me.

Unofficial
Mile – 7:10 on 12/14/2015
5k – 24:05 on 12/11/2015
10k – 52:41 on 12/19/2015
Half marathon – 1:53:35 on 12/12/2015

Official
5k – 25:13.8 on 11/26/2015 (YMCA of Central Maryland Turkey Trot – Westminster, MD)

Weight Loss
Starting Weight – 298.8
Last Week’s Weight – 212.6
Current Weight – 211.2
Change – down 1.4
Weight Loss To Date – 87.6
Pounds to Goal Weight – 11.2

