2015 was a ground breaking year for me in terms of fitness. I went from someone who loathed the very thought of running to someone who hates days without runs. Fortunately, I know that my body needs those rest days, so I endure through them.

Running has become very therapeutic for me. It’s a quiet time with just me, the road, music, and my thoughts. Few things clear my head more than a good run.

In 2015, my only real goal was to lose weight and I achieved more than I thought possible in that area. This year, I want to not only stay healthy, but I want to make some improvements in my running as well. With that in mind, I have set goals for mileage, pace, PRs, and races.

image

Mileage
1,430 miles in 2016. That’s an average of 27.5 miles per week.

Pace
I want my average pace to be under 8:00/mile by the end of 2016.

PRs
These can be unoffficial or official.
1 mile – under 7
5k – 23:30
10k – 50:00
Half Marathon – 1:52:00

Races
3 5ks
2 10ks
2 half marathons

What are your running goals for 2016?

Don’t forget to follow The Journey of Ascent on Facebook and Twitter!

