With 2016 now officially here, the U.S. is now in an election year. Over the coming months we will hear about the importance of protecting our freedom and how the candidate from the other party wants to restrict our freedoms.

Relax! This is not a post about politics. I want to share with you the best way to live life and enjoy freedom.

  
You may be surprised to know that in my 36 years on this planet, I have discovered that true freedom has come to me by becoming a slave. This sounds crazy, I know, but stay with me for a few minutes. 

I grew up in church and have been active in ministry both as a volunteer musician and as a staff pastor for pretty much as long as I can remember. I gave my life to Christ very early on, but it wasn’t until high school that I truly started to formulate my own perspective about my relationship with Jesus.

Sure, I understood the most foundational elements of my faith. God created man. Man sinned and broke relationship with God. A sacrifice was required to restore that relationship and it would ultimately come in the person of Jesus Christ. God became man, lived a perfect life, was crucified, buried, and on the 3rd day rose again. This sacrifice made it possible for humanity to have relationship with God if we would simply accept it.

So how does all this come back to freedom through being a slave? By accepting Jesus, I have surrendered my life to His plan. My will takes a back seat to His; or more ideally my will genuinely becomes to do His will. I am His servant and there is nothing greater that I can strive to be.

You see, by surrendering to Him, I have freed myself from the bonds of people’s opinions or expectations. His calling takes precedence over everything and it is so liberating. 

In the words of my friend Trent Cory, Freedom is life with a purpose to save.

Freedom Is
I understand that everyone reading this is not a Christian. This is not an attempt to convert anyone, but rather, to share with you what has changed my life. I do believe it can change yours too. Comments and discussion are welcome. I only ask that it remain respectful.

Don’t forget that you can also follow The Journey of Ascent on Facebook and Twitter.

