image

I admit it. Resting is not the easiest thing for me to do. This week was a prime example.

My normal running schedule allows for a day off on either Wednesday or Thursday and then again on Sunday. This means that there are never more than 3 consecutive days of running without a rest day. Well we traveled from South Carolina to Maryland on Monday so I took Monday off. In my mind that meant I was going to run Tuesday through Saturday with no off day. On top of that, it just so happened that my schedule put me at 40 miles this week, including a 13.5 mile run on Saturday.

Long story short, I got all of my miles in, but my pace for the 13.5 suffered. My last 13 miler was at an 8:44 pace. This one was at 9:18. I can only blame the significant drop off on fatigue. Missing that mid-week rest day took its toll.

This story can very easily translate over to everyday life. It is very easy to keep going and going without stopping to take a breath. There are errands to run, tasks to finish at home and at work, people to please, and so on and so on. We tend to go at warp speed until we crash. The only problem is that it was never supposed to be that way.

Go all the way back to the beginning. God created the world in 6 days and He rested on the 7th day. He set the example. One of the Ten Commandments is to remember (observe) the Sabbath. God knew that we needed a regular day of rest. Too often, though, we think that we know better.

Think about it. Wouldn’t life be better if you didn’t feel the need to go until you crash? Wouldn’t it make sense to follow the example set by God?

This week taught me a very specific lesson with regard to my training. It’s better to take that day of rest. Sure, I got my miles in. However, my legs feel like garbage right now. Tomorrow’s day off is much needed. The next time that life puts me in a position where it would require 5 straight days of running, I’ll pass and take an extra day off. I think my body will be better for it.

