Week 8

It was a pretty normal week as far as training goes.  The only variation is that due to the group run put on by our local running store on Thursday night, there was only one true rest day on the calendar this week.  Those runs tend to be a slightly slower pace and fairly short so it really doesn’t cramp my recovery at all, plus it’s fun to run with a group since I am the guy pounding the pavement alone pretty much every other day of the week.  I also got back on the right side of the scale by dropping a pound this week.  Gotta keep inching down towards that elusive 200 pound mark.  It’s been in my sights for a while, but I can’t seem to get over the hump and actually hit it.  I will get there.

Before diving into the training week, I want to give a shout out to my friend, David, who will be running the Rock N Roll Half Marathon in New Orleans this weekend to continue his quest for 50 half marathons in 50 states by age 50. David really got me hooked on running and has been a huge motivator for me.  Go kill it this weekend, bro!

Friday – 6.51 miles in 51:10 for a pace of 7:51. Temp: 21, Wind Chill: 21, Humidity: 78%, No wind, and mostly cloudy.

I set a 10k Training PR on this run which was very surprising considering this was not a speed workout. I got progressively faster throughout the run. My only negative split was mile 4 where I dropped from 7:52 to 7:57, but I picked it up with a 7:43 mile 5 and a workout fastest 7:36 mile 6. No complaints about this run!

February19

Saturday – 11.27 miles in 1:37:25 for a pace of 8:38 in downtown Westminster. Temp: 46, Wind Chill: 43, Wind: 8mph, Humidity: 70%.

It was an absolutely beautiful morning to run. Temperatures were almost 20 degrees warmer than they have been most of this week. I did forget to purchase any Gu prior to this week’s long run, so I did feel a little bit of a fatigue, but am still thrilled with a long run pace under 8:40. Downtown Westminster early on a Saturday morning is an absolutely beautiful place to get a good run in.

February 20

Sunday – Scheduled Rest Day

Monday – 4.1 miles in 33:03 for a pace of 8:03. Temp. 32, Wind Chill: 26. This was a slightly weird run for me.  I went back out to my favorite trail in the area hoping that it would be completely clear of snow/ice only to find out that there was still some on the ground during the switch back section. That did slow me down a little bit. Also, with the snow melting and the temperature being at freezing the course was a little slick so at times I felt like I didn’t have great traction. My legs felt heavy and tired, so I was very surprised to wind up with an 8:03 pace.

4.67February 22

Tuesday -4.67 miles in 36:27 for a pace of 7:48. Temp: 38 and light rain. I ran today for the first time with my new-to-me Garmin Forerunner 410. The data from it was a little bit different. Garmin registered 4.51 miles in 36:30 for a pace of 8:06. I plan on ultimately switching over to the Garmin for all data beginning in March. For the sake of continuity with February’s totals, I will go with what the Nike+ App says.  I expect you will see a slight drop off in my pace when I make the full on conversion based on what I saw today.

February 23

Wednesday – 5.01 miles in 40:11 for a pace of 8:01. Temp: 40 degrees and raining. Fortunately it was a light rain so the trail wasn’t very slick and despite a very slow start (8:42 first mile), I was able to complete my run with a solid pace.  Tomorrow is a rest day, but I plan on going to the running portion of Run Moore’s monthly Pub Run tomorrow night in downtown Westminster.  Looking forward to 13.5 on Saturday!

February 24

Thursday – Scheduled Rest Day. I did join a group of 60-70 other runners in the area for a monthly pub run that is put on by Run Moore which is the local running store here in Westminster.  Let me once again encourage you to give your business to local shops like this.  Small businesses are vital to the economy of every town in America.  I was expecting this run to be shorter and slower based on January’s experience.  I was wrong on both counts.  Learning from my mistake last month, I got out the door of the store closer to the front and within a half mile found myself with one of the front packs.  We ended up doing 3.78 miles at an 8:03 pace according to my Nike app, 3.69 at an 8:21 pace according to my Garmin. The pace on the Garmin is usually a little bit slower than the Nike, but it was more so tonight as I forgot to pause it as we waited to cross an intersection.  The Nike app automatically pauses when it detects that you’ve stopped moving. Running with a group is a welcome change, even if it is with a group of strangers.

February 25

Weekly Miles – 35.34
February Miles – 120.46
YTD Miles – 267.14
On pace for – 1,736.41
Miles to goal – 1,162.86

January – 146.68 miles; 8:30 pace (3 seconds behind December)
February – 120.46; 8:16 pace (14 seconds ahead of January)

Unofficial
1 mile – 7:09 on 1/20/2016
5k – 23:17 on 1/15/2016  (2016 running goal was 23:30)
10k – 48:52 on 2/19/2016 (2016 running goal was 50:00)
Half Marathon – 1:51:10 on 2/6/2016 (2016 running goal was 1:52:00)

Official
5k – 25:13.8 on 11/26/2015 (YMCA of Central Maryland Turkey Trot – Westminster, MD)

Weight Loss
Starting Weight – 298.4
Last Week’s Weight – 206.2
Current Weight – 205.2
Change – down 1.0
Weight Loss To Date – 93.2
Pounds to Goal Weight – 5.2

