If you’ve attended a contemporary style church service in the past year or if you’ve listened to even 20 minutes of Christian radio, I feel pretty safe in saying that you’ve heard the song ‘Good Good Father’ by the band Housefires.  Wait a second! Chris Tomlin didn’t write it? Are you sure? Yes, I’m sure.

Worship leaders such as myself have a tendency to be fairly snarky at times. When a song is uber popular in the mainstream of church music, many of us intentionally try to avoid doing that song. Why is that? 

There are several reasons, but when I look inward, I firmly believe that the ultimate reason is a pride issue. We want to me more cutting edge than the next guy so we shy away from the mainstream. Unfortunately this sometimes leads us into cramming such obscure music down our congregation’s throat that we make it nearly impossible for them to engage in worship because they simply don’t know the song.

I’ve gotten sidetracked already. That’s a blog for another day. Back to the title of this blog and the song that it references.

I first heard ‘Good Good Father’ last winter. A friend had told me to check it out and I did. I actually really liked the song at first. The original Housefires recording has a raw passion to it that is not often found in today’s church music. In fact I loved it.

At the time, I was in the midst of searching for a ministry job so I did not have the opportunity to lead it. By the time we landed here in Virginia Beach, the song had become a monster in the Christian music world. Everyone (Casting Crowns, Tomlin, and Zealand to name a few) had released their own versions of the song. Consequently, I waited to do it here. 

I finally caved and did the song here on Father’s Day (appropriate enough). It went over well but nothing spectacular. I figured we would occasionally do it, but not a lot. We did the song a couple more times in the coming months and then a few weeks ago I had an encounter with that song that would forever change my attitude about it.

Before I go on, let me be clear that I know that there is something special about all parental relationships (father-son, mother-daughter, etc.), but (and maybe my bias is showing) there is something different about the relationship between a daddy and his little girl. Here’s me with my two girls.


I had the opportunity to help with worship at our church’s women’s conference during the month of September. The only guys in the room were myself and a couple members of our band. It’s definitely a different feeling. 

I was sitting in the first session and the speaker began talking about Abba Father’s relationship to His children. It became obvious that the appropriate song for response time was going to be ‘Good Good Father.’

We began singing it and I watched a room full of women latch on to that song and sing it to Abba in a way that I had either just previously ignored or maybe I hadn’t seen it. These were no longer adult women. They were little girls loving on their Daddy.

It almost broke me right there on the stage. Nothing brings my heart more joy than when my girls tell me that they love me or that I’m the best daddy in the world (I’m not, but I’m glad that they feel that way). Why shouldn’t it bring Abba Father the same kind of joy when we, His children, tell Him that He’s a good father.  I know that God certainly doesn’t need our affirmation, but that doesn’t mean He doesn’t want the love of His children.

That’s the power in this song. It’s more than the ‘hook’, more than the simple chord structure. It’s the simplicity of a child of God lifting their voice and telling Him that they love Him. 

It truly is an undeniable love and an unexplainable peace that He Loves us.

For those who maybe have only heard Tomlin song this song, or maybe you haven’t heard it at all, here is Housefires recording of ‘Good Good Father.’

Good Good Father by Housefires

