Being a worship pastor is truly an interesting job. There are mornings where you feel as though you are pulling a semi up a hill for the duration of the service. There are other days where you aren’t even sure that you need to be on the platform because everything is happening so effortlessly. The reality is that most worship services tend to fall somewhere in between the two extremes that I mentioned.

I don’t fully know why things can sometimes be so different from week to week (especially when you’re essentially dealing with the same people every week). I suppose that it lies in the fact that life is different for each of us from week to week. I know that recently, there has been a lot of major stuff going on in the lives of many people on our worship team. As a result, I have seen their desire to experience God’s presence escalate and their worship has found a new intensity and fervor. Isn’t it amazing how sometimes our lives have to be shaken up to get us to refocus on the One that really matters.

Today as one of those days where the congregation really connected with the worship team and we were able to join together in our worship journey. From the beginning of the service as we were singing the classic Matt Redman lyric

You give and take away

You give and take away

My heart will choose to say

Lord blessed Be Your Name 

it was clear that the church was fully engaged. That feeling intensified and ultimately culminated as we sang ‘Great Are You Lord.’ There’s something powerful about declaring the greatness of God. 

As a worship pastor, this morning was so refreshing. On a personal level, while I was technically taking us through the ‘set list’ (I hate that word for worship, but I don’t know what else to call it), I was just as much a participant as anything else. The church was worshipping and I could simply join in with them and not worry about the mechanics of the service order.

These are the mornings that worship pastors live for. Let me be clear, in no way do I think that the church’s engagement in worship was because of anything I did. They were responding to God, not man. It’s so much fun when that happens.

I’m not patting myself on the back here. I don’t deserve that. I’m simply sharing from my heart on the heels of an amazing worship experience this morning. I can’t wait for next week!

Great Are You Lord

