Simple words from the book of First John. However, far too often, many believers (myself included) speak the words of love while demonstrating the actions of indifference (at best). Why?

The irony to me is that it seems to be so hard to work up the courage to tell that special girl that you love her for the first time, yet so easy to simply say to a friend or acquaintance that you love them. Perhaps, we know that saying ‘I love you’ to your significant other is a statement that requires some action to back it up. When I tell a friend that I love them, there doesn’t seem to be nearly as much required of me. Should there be?

According to I John 3:18, the answer seems to be yes. If I say that I love someone, I had better be willing to back it up with actions. In fact, John spends the majority of this epistle telling us that if we speak love and don’t show love, we are nothing more than liars and hypocrites.

Is this why many run away from the church? Are they tired of hearing about love while seeing nothing but hate and judgement? 

In reality, we are all imperfect. We all have secrets that we don’t want anyone else to know about. We certainly don’t want to be viewed according to our mistakes. 

Maybe it’s time the body of Christ remembered that. Maybe then it would be much easier to show people the transforming love of our Savior.

Don’t say it, if you aren’t willing to live it out!

