This has been a year of change for the Darling family. It has been exciting, stressful, and incredibly rewarding. 

The biggest change for us came in April. We interviewed for the worship pastor position at Kempsville Church in Virginia Beach on April 3. We were hired that day and on Friday April 15, we were moving into our home in Virginia Beach.


Our first 8 months in Virginia Beach have been amazing. Kempsville Church is truly home for us. The people have embraced us with open arms and the leadership of Pastor Frye has been phenomenal to work alongside of. We can’t wait to see what is in store for this church in the future.


2016 also marked my first full year of running. I began running in April of 2015 in an effort to lose weight. While I have gained some weight back since moving to Virginia, I am still a far cry from the 298 that I weighed in 2015. 

In 2015, I ran 4 5k races, 2 10k races, a 17.76k race as well as my first 2 half marathons (Patrick Henry and Baltimore Running Festival).


I ran a total of 1361.98 miles over the course of this year. That still blows my mind. One of the coolest things was the friendships that developed with a group of runners that became part of a Facebook challenge to run 1,000 miles in 2016. I was able to meet up with one of those folks on New Years Eve for my final run of the year. This group as well as a local group, The Running Turtles, in Virginia Beach have provided more support and motivation than you can imagine.


I am excited to see what 2017 has in store! I am setting a goal of 1,500 miles in 2017 so we will see how that goes. I am also looking forward to making more amazing memories with Beth and the girls. After all, without them, all this other stuff is really not that important.


HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

