Diet. Diet. Diet. It is possible to work your butt off in the gym or out on the roads and gain weight. I was painfully reminded of that this week. I had a great week of training, but my diet wrecked it.

Having said that, on Thursday night we took the kids out for a meal at Zaxby’s. It’s one of our favorite places, but the closest one is a good 20-25 minutes away so we don’t eat there often. I cherish family time so it’s not possible for me to regret this meal. Then on Friday, Beth and I had a lunch date at the newly opened Chipotle here in town. Time alone with my wife is also very valuable to me so I don’t even care that I had 2 not so good meals. (Who knew a chicken burrito with brown rice, black beans, cheese, and sour cream from Chipotle came in at 1,025 calories?) I had one final splurge on some popcorn when we went as a family to finally see Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Three splurges in a week for me is an anomaly so the diet will be back on track next week. Besides, when your youngest daughter is this excited about Star Wars, how can you be mad.


Sunday, January 22 – 2.2 miles on the treadmill at a 9:14 pace followed by strength training at the Y.


Monday, January 23 – 4.1 miles at a 9:22 pace


Tuesday, January 24 – 5.1 miles in a nasty driving mist at a 9:40 pace followed by my Fit Quest weight training program.


Wednesday, January 25 – No Workout

Thursday, January 26 – I ran with the Running Turtles at Mount Trashmore and did 5.5 miles at a 9:07 pace. I then went to the Y for my strength training program.


Friday, January 27 – I ran the neighborhood and logged 4.5 miles at a 9:05 pace.

Saturday, January 28 – I went to the oceanfront and ran a solid 13.1 miles at a 9:55 pace. I ran miles 1-12 with a :90/:30 run/walk ratio and ran the last 1.1 miles in. It felt great to have that reserve in the tank at the end. On the down side, I did come close to puking when I got to my car. I should also note that today was supposed to be a lifting day as well….that didn’t happen after my 13.1.


WTD – 34.50

MTD – 129.10

YTD – 129.10

Miles to Goal – 1370.90

Weight – 236.6 (up 4.6) I’m not at all happy about this, but I have to get my eating under control. Snacks, Chipotle, and Zaxby’s did me in this week.

Here’s my before/after 1 week on my new lifting program.

