Well, another solid week of training is in the books. Despite not quite reaching 30 miles (I would have had I not overslept on Saturday morning), I feel like I got some good work in. This was also a very emotional week for me as you will read about a little bit farther down the page.  My weight continues to do a little bit of fluctuating, but now the fluctuations are staying in the 230’s where before they would creep into the 240’s. I still want to get down to the 200’s, but I know that from what I am seeing both in the mirror and with my clothes, despite the slow drop in weight, my body is reshaping in a good way so I am happy about that.

Also, may I vent for just a moment.  I understand that there are plenty of articles out there that tell you how terrible running is for your body.  I can also tell you that there are just as many articles out there that can tell you the benefits of running.  I refuse to cram running down anyone’s throat as the answer to any fitness or weight problems.  It isn’t.  It is, however, a very valuable tool to help along the journey.  The reality is that getting your body fit requires a healthy balance of cardio, strength training, and proper nutrition.  If you leave any of these three things out, you are lessening your results.  I also understand that running isn’t for everyone.  There are certain injuries that can make it impossible for some to run. That’s fine. There are plenty of other effective forms of cardio work out there.  Please don’t send me articles telling me how bad running is.  Chances are, I won’t even read them.  Different things work for different people.  Running has been a lifesaver for me.  My body is in much better condition today than it was 2 years ago when I started running.

Now that that’s off my chest, here’s this week’s rundown.

Sunday, February 26 – Total rest day.

Monday, February 27 – 4.5 miles at a 9:30 pace, followed by 46 minutes of strength training.  The pace was a bit slower than I liked, but I had negative splits all the way through.

img_3602

Tuesday, February 28 -I met up with the Running Turtles at Mount Trashmore for a 5:30 am run.  I logged 4.2 miles at a 9:25 pace.  I wanted to go longer, but for some strange reason, I was having some minor breathing issues so I didn’t want to push it.

fullsizerender

On a personal note: Tonight we found out that they have discovered 3 lesions on my dad’s brain.  He will be having a PET scan done and will see an oncologist next week.  This has left me in a state of absolute shock.  Prayers greatly appreciated.

Wednesday, March 1 -5.2 miles at a 9:54 pace followed by a round of strength training.  This morning’s run was completely about clearing my head and spending some time in prayer.  I didn’t care about pace or distance. I just went out and ran.

Thursday, March 2 – 5.0 miles at a 9:22 pace.  I didn’t meet up with my normal group at 5:30 as I needed a little bit of extra sleep.

img_d9a8f51fa5d4-1

Friday, March 3 – Tomorrow is long run day, so I took it easy on the mileage today. I ran 2.6 miles at a 9:13 pace and followed it up with a 52 minute strength training round.

Saturday, March 4 – The day started off on a disappointing note as I overslept through my alarm to get in my long run.  I will say that I am proud of myself in that I didn’t stay in bed, but rather I got out there and got the mileage in that time would allow.  I logged 6.2 miles at a 9:33 pace. I also kept to my commitment to make my Saturday runs Galloway runs. I used a :90/:30 ratio for the duration of this run and was pleased with my pace considering the ratio.

fullsizerender-2

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March – Shamrock 8k (Va. Beach)

April – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA)

June – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

November – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 27.7

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY MTD – 111.50

MARCH MTD – 19.0

YTD – 272.1

Miles to Goal – 1227.9

Weight – 237.2 (up 4.4)

img_3625
Top – Before starting strength training. Bottom – 6 weeks into strength training.
