Another interesting week in the books.  I logged 6 runs and 4 strength training workouts this week.  I’m frustrated with my weight.  What I can’t figure out is the actual validity of the statement that muscle is heavier than fat.  Right now, the scale is going up but I feel like overall, I look more fit.  I completely get that 244 is still way to heavy for me, but as the strength training is taking effect, I need to figure out just what a good target weight is at this point.  With consistent strength training, I’m not sure that 200 is the number. It may be closer to 210 or 215, but we will just have to see how this plays out.

I’m excited that my first race is next week. I’ll be running the Shamrock 8k on Saturday and I’m even more excited that my kids will be running their first event, the Shamrock Final Mile shortly after the completion of the 8k.  Maybe they’ll develop their dad’s love of running.  Here’s the week’s rundown.

Sunday, March 5 – Total Rest Day.  I would like to give a shout out to my buddy David Geddings who today completed his 34th half marathon in his 18th state. He is on a quest to run 50 half marathons in fifty states.  Awesome job, my friend!

Monday, March 6 – 4.5 miles at a 9:31 pace followed by 52 minutes of strength training.  While the run pace was a little bit slower than I prefer, I achieved negative splits which is always a good thing.  My strength training workout was driven by the grooves from the hit broadway musical, Hamilton.

img_3634

Tuesday, March 7 – 5.2 miles with The Running Turtles at Mount Trashmore this morning.  I did a 9:27 pace and it was almost 20 degrees warmer than yesterday’s run. After getting the kids off to school, I went to the Y and got in a nice strength training session.

IMG_3639

Wednesday, March 8 – I slept in a little bit this morning as I woke up with a bit of a migraine. After work, I didn’t have a ton of time, but I did get a total of 3.3 miles in.  The first mile was a slow out and back with two of the cutest running partners anywhere (my daughters). We did 30/30 intervals for the mile and completed it in 13:25. I dropped them off at home and ran another 2.3 miles at a 9:20 pace.

IMG_9098

Thursday, March 9 – It was a cool, but beautiful morning to meet up with The Running Turtles. I logged 5.2 miles at a 9:39 pace.  We will call this a David Geddings Tribute run as I ran a mile, walked a tenth, and repeated. David is a good friend that really got me serious about running and convinced me that half marathons weren’t insane to go after.  When we would run together in SC, this is the pattern we would use. Followed this run up with a morning trip to the Y for some strength training.

IMG_3651

Friday, March 10 – 4.5 miles at a 9:35 pace.  Really didn’t want to do this one, but I got it done! Now to spend the rest of today on a much needed date with my baby!

IMG_3655

After getting my morning run in, I spent the better part of the day dating my wife.  If you know me at all, you know that I consider this to be an absolutely vital part of my marriage. I absolutely love spending quality time with this gorgeous lady.

IMG_1661

Saturday, March 11 – I got a nice comfortable long run in today. I logged 10 miles at a 9:39 pace using the Galloway method and intervals of 90/30. I waited until midday to run as it was in the mid 20’s early this morning.  I’m glad I did.  While the temp was still only around 40 degrees, that made for great running weather.

IMG_3665

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Va. Beach)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA)

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC) 6/3

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 32.7

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY MTD – 111.50

MARCH MTD – 51.7

YTD – 304.8

Miles to Goal – 1195.20

Weight – 244.2  (up 7)

IMG_3660

