Well, the first race of the year has finally arrived. I’m excited to run the Shamrock Towne Bank 8k on Saturday morning and even more excited to watch my girls run the Shamrock Final Mile that same morning.  Who would have thought that given their asthma issues, either of my kids would end up doing a run! Maybe they’ll catch the bug and I can break Carrie into a 5k this year and Hannah when she gets a little bit older.  I’ll recap Saturday’s events in a separate blog.

I trained a little bit lighter than normal this week as I only ran 4 days. I took my normal Sunday and Wednesday rest day, but then I took Friday off from running to see what I could push myself to get as far as pace goes on Saturday.

Sunday, March 12 – Rest Day

Monday, March 13 – 4.2 miles at a 9:26 pace. This one was tough. I had zero energy this morning. Will get my strength training in after work.

IMG_3670

Tuesday, March 14 – 4.6 miles at a 9:26 pace. This seems to be my pace for the week.  Oh well. It was damp and very windy, but it felt really good to get out there. The sky was also really cool looking this morning. Beyond the clouds it was a very deep blue. The pictures don’t do it justice, but, oh well.

IMG_3677

Wednesday, March 15 -Completely unplanned rest day. I woke up with a very stiff ankle and with a race coming up on Saturday, I opted to take the day off.

Thursday, March 16 – 6.3 miles at a 9:20 pace.  I didn’t make it to the gym to lift today due to having to take the dog to the vet.  Also…March Madness has begun!!

IMG_3682

Friday, March 17 – Strength training only today. I want to push pace a little bit at tomorrow’s 8k, so I opted to not take a run and just do weights.  I did make it down to the Virginia Beach Convention Center to pick up my race packet for the 8k as well as the bibs and shirts for Carrie and Hannah as they will run the Shamrock Final Mile tomorrow as well.  I am so proud of and excited for them.

IMG_5787

Saturday, March 18 – Towne Bank Shamrock 8k. Garmin showed the course a little bit long. 5.0 miles in 42:35 for a pace of 8:34 according to the chip time, 8:31 on my Garmin. Pleasantly surprised with that time as it was nearly 2 1/2 minutes faster than my goal which I wasn’t sure was doable to begin with.  Adrenaline is a funny thing.

IMG_3702

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Va. Beach) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA)

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Va. Beach)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 20.1

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY MTD – 111.50

MARCH MTD – 71.8

YTD – 324.9

Miles to Goal – 1175.10

Weight – 244.8 (up 0.6)

IMG_3688

