This was a week that I’d rather just forget.  On the heels of a great race week last week, I was pumped up and ready to kill it.  Then my body had other plans.  On Tuesday, I fought a stomach bug which while only keeping me down for one day, did a number on my body for the rest of the week.  My energy level was zapped and every subsequent run was a struggle.

Sunday, March 19 – Rest Day. A bit surprised that my legs actually felt a little bit sore today. Not sure if it’s a result from pushing pace in yesterday’s race or just a bit of overall fatigue.  Looking forward to an easy shake out run tomorrow.  Will probably Galloway the run just to allow for a little bit more recovery.

Monday, March 20 – I did a shake out run this morning using :90/:30 intervals. I ran 4.7 miles at a 9:34 pace. After the kids were off to school I went to the Y and got in 50 minutes of strength training.

Tuesday, March 21 – Forced rest day thanks to the stomach bug.  Ugh!

Wednesday, March 22 – Not feeling the best, but got out for 4.5 miles at a slow 9:52 pace.

Thursday, March 23 – Turned out to be another rest day.  My body is just not cooperating with me this week and it really sucks.

Friday, March 24 – Got back out there today and did a 6.4 mile run using my :90/:30 intervals that I plan on using for my next half in 2 weeks.  It felt a little weird to settle into half marathon pace on essentially a 10k run, but I think getting my body into that mode will reap rewards on race day.

IMG_3723

Saturday, March 25 – Needed a long run, but didn’t have a ton of gas in the tank.  Opted to do an 8 mile run at my (:90/:30) interval followed immediately by a 3 mile walk. That gave me 11 miles total on the day without killing me.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Va. Beach) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA)

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Va. Beach)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 26.60

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY MTD – 111.50

MARCH MTD – 98.40

YTD – 351.50

Miles to Goal – 1148.50

Weight – 236.2 (down 8.6)

