Sunday, April 2 – No workout. We had a great day at church and in the evening I enjoyed watching WrestleMania 33 with my oldest daughter.  Yep, I enjoy watching wrestling!

Monday, April 3 – Celebrated both opening day and UNC playing for the National Championship tonight by running 5.3 miles at a 9:59 pace.  I used 2:00/:30 intervals and forced myself to keep things at an easy pace.  Considering I have my first half of the year on Saturday, there’s no reason to do anything stupid.

Tuesday, April 4 – After a late night of watching my Tar Heels bring home their 6th National Championship in basketball, I got out the door for a solid 4.8 at a 9:56 pace.  Still forcing myself to go easy on the pace ahead of Saturday’s half marathon.  I’m also running longer intervals during the week (2:00/:30) than I will use on Saturday (1:30/:30)

Wednesday, April 5 – Rest Day.  I’ll admit, rest days are hard for me, but it’s a half marathon week, so I will not underestimate the importance of staying fresh ahead of the race.

Thursday, April 6 – IT’S MY BIRTHDAY!!! Celebrated with 5.3 miles at a comfortable 9:58 pace. Today was the first day this week that slowing it down didn’t bother me.  It was a nice, comfortable run.  Feeling great about my half on Saturday! We celebrated my birthday at The Cheesecake Factory here in Virginia Beach.  I think I ate too much. LOL!!

Friday, April 7 – One last slow run before my half tomorrow.  I did 3.5 miles using my half marathon intervals (:90/:30), but really made sure to not over exert.  I just wanted to stretch everything out a bit.  Today’s run also put me over 400 miles for the year! Race day tomorrow!!

Saturday, April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon. It was a chilly 39 degrees at race time today. I went out with a game plan and stuck to it.  I ran mile 1, then settled into my :90/:30 intervals until I was at 12.6 miles.  I then ran the final half mile in.  Finished with a half marathon PR of 2:07:52 which smashed my previous PR (set at the Baltimore Half) of 2:27:19.  Such a fantastic day to run. The Garmin had me at 13.16 miles at a 9:43 pace.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Va. Beach) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Va. Beach)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 32.06

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY MTD – 111.50

MARCH MTD – 125.20

APRIL MTD – 36.56

YTD – 414.86

MILES TO GOAL OF 1,500 – 1,085.14

CURRENT WEIGHT – 238.2 (No Change)

