April didn’t finish the way I had hoped.  I was really pushing to try to make up for those 5 missed days a couple of weeks ago.  Possibly pushing too hard as my body said no more at the end of the week.  It’s all good.  Marathon training is not a sprint.  If I plan to finish the Richmond Marathon in November, I have to keep my body right.  Regardless, I still finished the month with over 100 miles so that’s certainly nothing to be upset about.

There is also some exciting training news coming down the road that I can’t wait to share with you guys.  However, until I have all the details, I will refrain from saying anything else, but it is a very cool opportunity.

Sunday, April 23 – Normally a rest day for me, but trying to make up for those 5 straight off days and still hit my monthly mileage goal.  I ran 5.2 miles in the rain and who knows, despite the mileage I logged last week, this rain run may have been the run to really get me out of my funk.  I enjoyed every minute of this one.

Monday, April 24 – The rain is still here although after the first mile or so I caught a break.  Logged another 5.2 today.  Pace was slower as I had a little bit of quad soreness.  Still feeling great though!

Tuesday, April 25 – Unplanned rest day today. After 2 days of running in moderate rain, it was pouring this morning. Afternoon obligations negated any possibility of a run later in the day.

Wednesday, April 26 – Scheduled rest day.  I tried to make myself get out of bed early and get a few miles in and it just wasn’t happening.  Listen to your body!

Thursday, April 27 – 6.1 miles at a moderate 10:13 pace.  I am trying to force myself to slow down a little bit as I am really trying to focus on November’s marathon despite the other races on the calendar before then.  Some days it’s easier than others.

IMG_3877

Friday, April 28 – A slow 5 miles today.  Got it done, nonetheless.

Saturday, April 29 – No run today.  Woke up early planning on a long run, and I was fighting a migraine and extreme fatigue.  Always listen to your body.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA)

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 21.5

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL MTD – 105.2

YTD – 483.5

MILES TO GOAL OF 1,500 – 1,021.5

CURRENT WEIGHT – 242

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:07:52 (Dismal Swamp Stomp, Chesapeake, 4/8/2017)

