Whew! What a week.  So many things happening that I’m honestly surprised that I managed to log a solid 27 miles. Running has definitely become one of my favorite ways to decompress when life gets crazy and this week was one that got crazy in more ways than planned.  I am incredibly grateful for each mile that I logged today.  As of today, I am 6 months and 1 week away from the Richmond Marathon.  Time is flying.  I am doing everything that I can to treat every run (even races like this week’s 5k) as a training run and not worrying about chasing PRs or anything like that. I’m trying to keep the big picture in mind.

Sunday, April 30 – No run

Monday, May 1 – 5.2 miles at a 10:12 pace. Still struggling to find my pace again.  It will come though. Capped the morning off with 42 minutes of strength training at the Y.  After a couple of weeks away from the weights, this workout felt really good.

Tuesday, May 2 – I really wasn’t sure if I’d get out to run today, but after everything that transpired (Beth’s outpatient surgery in the morning and finding out that my dad was being taken to the ER following his first cyber knife radiation treatment while Beth was in pre-op) I really needed to try to get out there for a little bit in the evening.  I went out to Mount Trashmore and got in a nice 4.3 mile run at a 9:40 pace.  Running has become incredibly therapeutic for me and this was very much needed.

Wednesday, May 3 – Scheduled Day Off.  I am trying to get my mind back into the place where I honor my scheduled rest days.  I actually think that going out there just because I wanted to may have attributed to the little bit of burnout that I had been feeling.

Thursday, May 4 – After missing these early morning meet ups at Mount Trashmore for almost a month because I didn’t want to drag my butt out of bed, I finally got back out there with my friends and had a fantastic 6 mile run at a 9:23 pace. After the kids got off to school, I made it to the Y for a nice 43 minute weight lifting circuit.

Friday, May 5 – Early morning thunderstorms derailed the morning run.  Hopefully I can get out there this evening just to stretch the legs ahead of tomorrow’s Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k.  Update: After battling a pretty bad migraine for most of the day, I did manage to get out this evening and logged 5.2 miles at a 9:56 pace.

Saturday, May 6 – Race Day! I always enjoy race day.  However, with November’s marathon in sight already, I am trying to treat shorter races like today’s 5k as a training run.  Not even thinking about a PR.  It’s also slightly frustrating to lose my long run day to a race that covers only 3.1 miles.  Consequently, to compensate for losing a few miles, I woke up early this morning and logged 3.1 miles before the race using my anticipated marathon intervals of :50/:20. I realize that interval may change as I get deeper into the training, but its’ where I’m starting.  Those first 3.1 miles were logged at a slow 10:21 pace.

IMG_3906
Warm-up run using marathon intervals

Following this warm-up, it was off to Mount Trashmore for the Breathe Easy for Asthma Awareness 5k.  I ran this race very relaxed and didn’t even think of going after a PR.  I finished in 27:08 and in 22nd place overall.  It was great to enjoy this race with some friends from the Running Turtles. I will post a recap in the next day or so.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA) 27:08

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 27.0

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL – 105.2

MAY MTD – 27.0

YTD – 510.5

MILES TO GOAL OF 1,500 – 989.5

CURRENT WEIGHT – 242.2

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:07:52 (Dismal Swamp Stomp, Chesapeake, 4/8/2017)

