This is a devotion that I wrote for our church’s Facebook page last week. The more I thought about it, the more I thought that I would share it with my readers here as well.  Enjoy!

iron-sharpens-iron

Proverbs 27:17 – Iron sharpens iron,
and one man sharpens another.

We often hear this verse quoted with regard to things like discipleship and accountability. I believe both of those are very good interpretations for this verse. With that said, allow me for a minute to share something that I have only recently learned that I believe also applies to this verse.

Prepare to be shocked. People, believers included, do not universally agree with each other. You’re shocked, right?

We live in a culture where the popular responses to disagreeing with someone are to shout them down or to not even take a moment to listen. Why is this? I believe that culture has conditioned us to somehow believe that those who disagree with us are inherently lower on the moral food chain than we are. For example, not agreeing with someone is now often interpreted as not loving them. How did we get here?

Being sharpened knocks the rough edges off of a blade, but you can’t knock those edges off without applying a little bit of friction. I firmly believe that part of iron sharpening iron involves our willingness to listen to and have civil conversations with those who may not see eye to eye with us. When our mindset on a subject is challenged, it forces us to be able to either articulate why our mindset is that way or we may end up altering our mindset.

Christians disagree on a myriad of things. Politics (oops, I said it), musical styles, Bible translations, and worship expressions just to name a few. These disagreements have often times split churches. That saddens me.

When we interact with brothers and sisters, we need to start on common ground. That common ground is found at the foot of the cross. If we have accepted Christ as our savior, we are family. We may not agree on everything, but at the end of the day, we are Christians.

Allow yourself to be sharpened today!

