Two things come to mind as I look back at this week’s training.  Normalcy is the first thing.  After two crazy weeks of traveling back and forth to Maryland to be with my dad, this week’s schedule was normal.  No travel. No changing routines.  Just a normal week and it felt so good.

The second thing that popped into my mind was that it just got real.  The mileage ratcheted up this week thanks to a 9 mile speed workout on Wednesday and an 11 mile long run this morning.  This is my first week over 30 miles since beginning the Galloway Customized Training Program and my legs are feeling it.  Here’s the rundown for the week.

Sunday, June 25 – GCT Day 48 – Water running was on the schedule for today, but my wife woke me up early to see if we could go for an early morning walk before church.  Who am I to turn that down? Beth is just now starting to begin her health and fitness journey and I am so proud of her for that.  We went for a nice walk around the neighborhood and logged 1.1 miles.  Great start to the week, especially considering how poorly last week ended. After church the family decided to scoot up to Busch Gardens Williamsburg to hang out with some of the youth group from the church.  It was hot, but we had a great day! Hoping it doesn’t hurt my run tomorrow.

IMG_4111

Monday, June 26 – GCT Day 49 – Tempo Run Day.  Today’s run was a 10 minute warmup using 60/30 intervals (10:25) pace, 20 minutes at HMP using 2:00/:30 intervals (8:58, 9:24), and 10 minutes cool down using 60/30 again (10:35). I added an extended cool down with 30/30 intervals (11:31) to get myself the rest of the way home. 4.3 miles at a cumulative 9:58 pace.  Solid run today.

After work this afternoon, I made it back to the Y for strength training. This was my first lifting session in almost 3 weeks.  Ouch, did it hurt!

 

 

Tuesday, June 27 – GCT Day 50 – Cross Training Day. I did not meet up with my early morning group at Mount Trashmore this morning. My body simply needed an extra couple of hours to sleep.  I did get up and got a 3 mile walk in at a 15 minute pace before work.  Feeling a little sore from yesterday’s weight training.

 

Wednesday, June 28 – GCT Day 51 – Speed work.  I am developing a love/hate relationship with the track.  I love the challenge and hate the exhaustion at the end.  Today was a 15 minute warmup, 8×800 with 400 recovery, and a 15 minute cool down.  All in all I totaled 9 miles on a Wednesday.  All 800 splits were between 3:54-3:58 so I’m digging the consistency.  Then I got crazy and went straight from the track to the Y to get my lifting done for the day.  I’m gonna feel all of this tomorrow during my drill run, I’m sure.

Side note – I recorded my second Galloway Customized Training Program Guinea Pig interview this afternoon.  Once the podcast is up, I will include the link in that week’s blog.

Thursday, June 29 – GCT Day 52 – Drill run.  10 minutes of warmup, 5 minutes of cadence drills, 5 minutes of acceleration gliders, 10 minutes at HMP, and 10 minutes of cool down.  Today is probably the hardest that I’ve pushed the acceleration gliders and cadence drills.  I hit 50 strides during my fastest cadence drill (a first for me) and when I checked my watch at one point during the acceleration gliders I had gotten my pace under 6 minutes per mile (only for a few seconds, but still).  I did pay for it a little bit during the HMP portion of the run.  The target for that was 8:55 and the result was 9:14.  After yesterday’s 800s, though, I will take it.  I decided to not go to the gym to lift today.  I may lift after my long run Saturday morning.

Friday, June 30 – GCT Day 53 – REST DAY!!

Saturday, July 1 – GCT Day 54 – Long run day. 79 degrees and 86% humidity.  That’s the bad news.  The good news is that I got the prescribed 11 miles in with nothing eventful happening.  I did slam the breaks on for the last 2 miles as the humidity was starting to take its toll, but at no point did I pack it in and shut it down.  These runs make me stronger!

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA) 27:08

May 27 – Elizabeth River Run 10k (Portsmouth, VA) 59:32

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC) 2:06:44 (PR)

August 26 – Patrick Henry Half Marathon (Ashland, VA)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 32.4

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL – 105.2

MAY – 90.4

JUNE – 103.2

JULY MTD – 11.0

YTD – 690.1

CURRENT WEIGHT – 236.2 (down 5.2 pounds)

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:06:44 (Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon, Ridgecrest, NC, 6/3/2017)

