Unpredictability strikes again.  Ha! From cramping up, to rain, to illness it was an interesting week to say the least, but I’m coming out of it still feeling good.  Here’s the rundown of the week.

Sunday, July 2 – GCT Day 55 – Opted to not venture out to the Y for water running, but instead went for a 3.1 mile walk at a 16:36 pace.  It’s slower than my previous walks have been, but it was a nice recovery for my body coming off of Saturday’s 11 miler.

Monday, July 3 – GCT Day 56 – Today’s workout was a tempo run at HMP. Rather than do the normal 10 minute warmup, I decided to make the warmup 1 mile exactly so that I could better see my tempo pace.  My target HMP is 8:55 and sadly, today the 2 miles I did at HMP were not even close to that. They were 9:27 and 9:36.  In my defense, It was already pushing 80 degrees with 86% humidity by the time I got out the door, but it is frustrating nonetheless, especially considering I’m running my 800s faster than prescribed.  I turned the cool down into a slow walk today. When I finished the HMP portion I actually was feeling slightly nauseous and Jeff Galloway himself is on record as being against puking.  All in all, I logged 4.4 miles today.  July is off to a good start.

 

 

Tuesday, July 4 – GCT Day 57 – Happy 4th of July.  I contemplated moving today’s walk to Friday and taking a rest day due to a blister on my foot that has been nagging me.  When all was said and done, I doubled up on the socks and walked my 4 miles so that I can keep my Friday rest day in tact.  Hope everyone has a great day!

 

 

Wednesday, July 5 – GCT Day 58 – Speed Work. Today was supposed to be 10x800s with 400 recovery between each one.  Couple that with a 15 minute warm up and 15 minute cool down and I was looking at between 9-10 miles.  Well, that didn’t happen.  The warm up went fine and then I started the 800s.  I should note that my local high school track was suddenly chained up to prevent us peasants from using their cracked asphalt track. Fortunately, I live in a very flat area, so I improvised using a 1.7 mile loop that would bring me right back around the house.  The 800s started and they were a little bit slower than they have been. I was around the 4:08-4:10 range for the first 3.  After half of the 4th 800, my hamstring cramped up pretty badly.  Having pulled a hamstring several years ago and knowing how long it took me to get back from that, I promptly shut it down.  I finished with 3 800s and 1 400 along with my warmup time.  3.8 miles logged today.

 

 

Thursday, July 6 – GCT Day 59 – This was a drill run day.  However, I woke up to pouring down rain, so I planned to get the run in that evening.  Well, life happens and between having to take myself and my oldest daughter to a haircut that afternoon, I also had to take her to physical therapy in the evening and by the time we ate dinner, the run didn’t happen.  The plan is to get this run in tomorrow.

Friday, July 7 – GCT Day 60 – It’s my day off.  It’s supposed to be a rest day, but I have a drill run from yesterday to make up for.  Of course, I wake up on day 8 of a migraine and some unsettled stomach issues happening.  I spent the day in bed instead.

Saturday, July 8 – GCT Day 61 – This was to be my magic mile day.  The good news is that I woke up with no headache and no stomach issues.  I wasn’t 100%, so I opted to push tomorrow’s magic mile off to tomorrow instead of the water running workout. I did go out for a mid-day walk in the 93 degree heat.  I walked 4 miles at a 15:55 pace.

This week also marked the release of the latest Extra Mile Podcast: Jeff Galloway Edition that I was fortunate to be a part of.  There’s a lot of good stuff from Jeff Galloway in this edition including him talking about running during the hot months of summer.  In the segment that I’m part of, Coach Twiggs and I talk about my progress as well as some upcoming additions to my training as I prepare for the Richmond Marathon in November.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA) 27:08

May 27 – Elizabeth River Run 10k (Portsmouth, VA) 59:32

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC) 2:06:44 (PR)

August 26 – Patrick Henry Half Marathon (Ashland, VA)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 19.3

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL – 105.2

MAY – 90.4

JUNE – 103.2

JULY MTD – 30.3

YTD – 709.4

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:06:44 (Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon, Ridgecrest, NC, 6/3/2017)

