Sunday, July 16 – GCT Day 69 – Scheduled for water running.  Still here at mom’s house for a few more days (Dad’s funeral is Tuesday) and I have no access to a pool. For the first time since last Monday, I got out and logged some miles.  I went to the Wakefield Valley Trail which is my favorite spot to run here and pounded out 4.5 slow and contemplative miles.  I needed it badly just to have some time alone with my thoughts as I’m also preaching my dad’s service on Tuesday.  On this run, I made the decision to dedicate my Richmond Marathon run in November, to his memory.  He would have loved to been at the finish line to congratulate me on the race.  Dad, this one is gonna be for you!

 

Monday, July 17 – GCT Day 70 – Hill Work Day.  This is a new addition to my training, and I was looking forward to knocking it out early this morning.  Unfortunately, I was awake from 2:30am on with some GI issues (it’s not like there’s any reason for that at all…sarcasm intended) so the plan is to scratch tomorrow’s cross training and get my 4 hill repeats in early tomorrow morning before Dad’s funeral.  I’m dreading today and tomorrow so much, but at the same time I am ready to have them behind me so that I can begin to move ahead in this new stage of life without my dad.  Is that weird?

Tuesday, July 18 – GCT Day 71 – We buried my dad today.  There was no amount of early morning motivation that could get me out of bed to go run before getting ready for the funeral.

Wednesday, July 19 – GCT Day 72 – Travel day.  Headed back home to adapt to a new ‘normal’ that I already know I don’t like very much.

Thursday, July 20 – GCT Day 73 – Back at it and it hurt so good.  I did a 4.4 mile drill run that included a 1 mile warm up, 5 cadence drills, 5 acceleration gliders, 1 half marathon interval (2:00/:30), an extended walk break to avoid puking, and then a :30/:30 cool down the rest of the way home.  Emotional stress takes a far greater physical toll than any of us  give it credit for and I felt it bad today.

Friday, July 21 – GCT Day 74 – Rest Day

Saturday, July 22 – GCT Day 75 – 5 mile tempo run.  Today’s workout called for a 1 mile warmup (10:54), then 3 miles at HMP (9:38, 9:53, 10:27), and a one mile cool down (17:09 – I walked that).  While the 3 tempo miles are not even in the ball park of my goal tempo (8:50), I’m encouraged that after the events of the past 2 weeks, I completed the workout using the assigned ratio and didn’t puke.  I should also mention that by the end of my 5 miles it the heat index was already 85.  It’s gonna be hot today.  I’ve also learned that any summer run here in Va Beach is a run worthy of a sQoosh band. Check them out.  They’re awesome!

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA) 27:08

May 27 – Elizabeth River Run 10k (Portsmouth, VA) 59:32

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC) 2:06:44 (PR)

August 26 – Patrick Henry Half Marathon (Ashland, VA)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 13.9

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL – 105.2

MAY – 90.4

JUNE – 103.2

JULY MTD – 50.0

YTD – 729.1

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:06:44 (Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon, Ridgecrest, NC, 6/3/2017)

