Sunday, August 6 – GCT Day 90 – Water Running/Cross Training – Once again, water running didn’t happen.  I love that workout, but hate trying to get to the Y on Sunday afternoons after a long morning at church.  I did manage to still get in 45 minutes of cross training with a 2.8 mile walk Sunday evening.  Hills tomorrow.

 

 

Monday, August 7 – GCT Day 91 – Hills x 10. I changed things up a little bit with this one in that instead of running the .2 mile long and gentle incline, I ran a shorter (.05 mile) hill that was much steeper because I wanted to try this with a hill that I could attack full throttle.  If my coach is ok with this change, I may alternate hills each week. My times up the hill ranged from 15 seconds on my slower efforts to 11 seconds on a few that I was really busting it up the hill.  All in all, I logged 3.2 miles today including the 10 hill repeats.

 

 

Tuesday, August 8 – GCT Day 92 – Cross Training – Lately, I’ve been using walking as my cross training.  Well, today, the weather wreaked havoc on that plan as we were dealing with rain pretty much every time that I could have gone out.  It turned into a rest day.  Also today, the latest version of The Extra Mile Podcast: Jeff Galloway Edition released.  You can hear my latest interview with host Kevin Gwinn and super coach Chris Twiggs as well as some really cool stuff from Jeff Galloway.  Give it a listen.

Wednesday, August 9 – GCT Day 93 – 14x800s – This workout was going great.  It was the first time that I was doing 800s without a walk break during the 800.  Consequently I went out way too hard on the 1st one and did it in 3:35. I was running as hard as I had been running with walk breaks factored in.  I would eventually get my pace figured out and settled down into a rhythm each 800.  Unfortunately as I got to number 7 I saw the field hockey team beginning to assemble at the track.  Once I finished my 8th, they were beginning to use the track and I knew I needed to go.  I squeezed in a 1 mile cool down and called it a morning.  I hate that I didn’t get 14 in, but the 8 I got in felt great. Finished with 8 miles including warmup and cool down.

 

 

Thursday, August 10 – GCT Day 94 – Drill Run – Nothing like getting up for a drill run to try to shake out the heavy legs from yesterday’s lengthy session of 800s.  Ha! Despite the heavy legs, I knocked out my cadence drills, acceleration gliders, and tempo run on this workout.  Admittedly the tempo was not as fast as it needed to be, but I will get there.  4.3 miles done with a rest day tomorrow to gear up for Saturday’s 17.

 

Friday, August 11 – GCT Day 95 – Rest Day

Saturday, August 12 – GCT Day 96 – Long Run (17 miles) – I genuinely didn’t know what to expect.  Two weeks ago I did 15 and thought I might die.  How was my body going to handle 17?  Well, the answer surprised me.  I was out the door by 3:40 (I had a 9am event to be at). Rather than going somewhere more scenic and less familiar to run, I kept it in the area around the house.  I truly felt really good through the 15 mile mark.  Mile 16 was a struggle and included a lot more walking than I would have liked, but I sucked it back up and did the last mile with my normal long run ratio of 60/30.  I know I was nowhere near (hopefully) marathon pace (these runs are supposed to be slow), but I was very happy to get my 17 miles in at an average pace of 12:33.  I think I’m at a good place being 3 months out from Richmond.

The next 2 weeks are kind of a taper situation as I am heading toward the Patrick Henry Half Marathon on August 26.

2017 RACE SCHEDULE

March 18 – Shamrock 8k (Virginia Beach, VA) 42:35 (PR)

April 8 – Dismal Swamp Stomp Half Marathon (Chesapeake, VA) 2:07:52 (PR)

May 6 – Breathe Easy 5k Run/Walk for Asthma Awareness (Virginia Beach, VA) 27:08

May 27 – Elizabeth River Run 10k (Portsmouth, VA) 59:32

June 3 – Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon (Ridgecrest, NC) 2:06:44 (PR)

August 26 – Patrick Henry Half Marathon (Ashland, VA)

October 28 – Anthem Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 11 – Richmond Marathon (Richmond, VA)

WTD – 35.3

JANUARY – 141.60

FEBRUARY – 111.50

MARCH – 125.20

APRIL – 105.2

MAY – 90.4

JUNE – 103.2

JULY MTD – 87.8

AUGUST MTD – 55.9

YTD – 823.0

PRs

5k – 22:44 (Breathe Easy for Asthma 5k, Virginia Beach, 5/5/2016)

8k – 42:35 (Shamrock 8k, Virginia Beach, 3/18/2017)

10k – 52:42 (Chick fil a Run with the Cows, Newport News, 5/28/2016)

17.76k – 1:44:38 (Independence Day Classic, Charles City, 7/2/2016)

Half Marathon – 2:06:44 (Downhill at Dawn Half Marathon, Ridgecrest, NC, 6/3/2017)

